Online Databases

  • Ancestry is the most popular and well known website for family history. It includes more than 7,000 databases and more than 200 billion records.

    You can use this database only within the Osterville Village Library. Fortunately, that means you can ask our reference librarian for assistance if you need help!

  • The Boston Public Library's eCard is a virtual library card that allows you to instantly use most of BPL's online resources from the comfort of your own home. If you live, own property, or commute to work in Massachusetts, you can register for a BPL eCard via the web! Just follow the prompts on their registration form and your eCard number will be emailed to you.

    BPL provides databases including art and music, business, health, history and genealogy, job resources, full-text newspapers of the 1600s through 2000s, and more.

  • The Encyclopaedia Britannica has expanded into a searchable, user-friendly reference website with sections aimed at children, young adults, and adults. You can use this database in the library or anywhere else in Massachusetts.

    If you've been looking for Spanish-language educational resources, statistical data about a variety of countries, a world atlas, or the biographical and topical articles that Britannica has long been famous for, then this is the resource for you!

  • Interested in finding out more about a particular career? Looking for sources to help with homework? Need some business information? Try some of the collections in this great database, which you can use in the library or anywhere else in Massachusetts.

    You may already be familiar with some of these resources from high school or college, including Academic OneFile, General Business File ASAP, InfoTrac Student Edition, and Opposing Viewpoints.

  • Glassdoor helps you find a job and company you love. Reviews, salaries and benefits from employees. Interview questions from candidates. Millions of jobs. There is no need to login or create an account with Glassdoor if you access the resource from the link above.

  • Global Road Warrior is a source of fascinating and useful information on almost all of the world's countries. You can use this database at the Osterville Village Library and outside, by clicking on the link above (you will be prompted to enter your library card barcode).

    This database is for business, pleasure, and armchair travelers. Each country's listing includes up-to-date information on topics such as business culture, climate, the electrical system and adapters needed, health risks and resources, points on interest, safety, and much more.

    A great resource to consult before you go on a trip -- or if you just want to know more about other nations!

  • HeritageQuest Online is a rich source of historical information for genealogists. Family historians can use this database in the library. Coming soon, the ability to use this database at home (by putting in your library barcode number).

    HeritageQuest, now owned by Ancestry.com, provides censuses and uniquely valuable Revolutionary War and African American genealogy resources.

  • This website offer practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, e-books, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire learning center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.

    You can use this resource in the library or at home. In either place, click on the link above. The first time you use Learning Express Library, click on the link to register using your library card barcode. You'll create a user name and login to use on your next visit.

  • The Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System (MaCRIS) allows you to search the Massachusetts Historical Commission database for information on historic properties and areas in the Commonwealth.

  • This Gale database contains full-text articles from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history.

  • A language learning program teaching practical conversation and cultural awareness. Unlimited remote access to 44 complete courses, including English for foreign speakers. Provided by a grant from the Town of Barnstable's Kirkman Trust Fund.

    To log in from within the Osterville Village Library, simply click on the link above and then choose "Quick Start." To access this database from home, click on the link above and log in. The first time you log in, click on the link reading "Create one" to create a profile using your library card number and a password of your choosing.

  • MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

  • NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as author read-alikes, book discussion guides, booktalks, and annotated book lists.

  • The Trial Court Law Libraries are a system of 17 libraries across Massachusetts. Here you will find state and federal laws and cases accessible by books or computers; electronic databases for legal research, including access to Westlaw and Lexis at no cost; legal forms; and books, audiotapes, and videotapes on a variety of legal topics.